Find a Church  |  Vacancies  |  Documents  |  Directory  |  Safeguarding |  Contact 


Lay Chairs appointed for new deaneries

First published on: 24th May 2021

Following an election process, Lay Chairs have been appointed to five of the new deaneries in the Diocese of Manchester. As the diocese moves from 20 to seven deaneries in June 2021, the Lay Chairs will have an important part to play in contributing to the success of the new deaneries, working closely with the new full time Area Deans to support the transformation of churches and develop a clear strategy for each deanery.

The new Lay Chairs are:

Bolton Deanery - Mr Keith Lewis
Bury and Rossendale Deanery - Mrs Kathryn Pollard
Manchester North and East Deanery - Mrs Diane Carr
Manchester South and Stretford Deanery - Canon Dr Adanna (Addy) Lazz-Onyenobi
Salford and Leigh Deanery - Canon Richard Lewis

The deaneries of Oldham & Ashton and Rochdale did not receive any nominations for Lay Chair, so nominations for these deaneries are invited at the first meeting of the Deanery Synod, which is expected to take place in June.

We are encouraging candidates from a wide range of backgrounds to come forward. You don’t have to have been a Lay Chair before to be nominated, although you do need to be a member of Deanery Synod.  Lay Chairs have a clear role description, and development and training is provided as part of the wider transformation programme of the diocese.  Expenses incurred in fulfilling the role will be reimbursed. 

Please consider prayerfully if being a Lay Chair is a role you are being called to.

Powered by Church Edit